Reviews

Here are just some reviews from our many satisfied customers. The full range of reviews can be found here.

“Freindly staff that took care of everything.”

Big rooms, clean and well worth the price. Service by staff was excellent. Great food in the Stable Bar selection from well balanced menu. Best Fillet steak I have ever had. 20 minute drive into Glasgow city centre or 5 minutes from Campsie hills. No complaints.

 

~David R via TripAdvisor

August 2016

“Delicious lunch”

We enjoyed a brilliant lunch in the conservatory. The conservatory is beautiful and looks onto lovely gardens. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed out visit. We will return ! Thank you .

Alison R via TripAdvisor
May 2016

“Fantastic staff and lovely old hotel”

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Kincaid House, the staff were all really welcoming and friendly, the room was big and airy and breakfast was cooked to order. We had dinner and drinks in the Stables bar which was good quality and not at ridiculous hotel prices! The hotel itself is quite ‘old-school’ and quaint but that’s what gives it its charm!

One thing I would recommend to people is don’t bother getting the bus into Kirkintilloch – you can get a taxi for two people for the same price!

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
  • Kfly83 via TripAdvisor

A lovely hotel

I have stayed here a couple of times. You get such a warm welcome from the lovely staff. The food is really good and well priced. Good choice too.
An option of a packed lunch instead of breakfast is a fantastic option as I had to leave early to get to the job.
Rooms are a bit of a nineties throwback, but you will forgive them for all the other pluses that this hotel has to offer

6 June 2017

emmalancs via TripAdvisor

Lunch with my mum

My mother has not been in this hotel since my brothers wedding which was 30 years ago , we had lunch which was soup for my mum and a steak sandwich for myself , service was suberb ,food was lovely would i go back ohhhh yessssss

Show less

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family

yaeman via TripAdvisor

“Living like a lord”

“This listed building has a serene setting and a fantastic orangery. The food is fantastic. Evening meals and breakfasts are exceptional. We enjoyed living like the local lord. To be recommended. The surrounding area is very picturesque.” – Gerry, stayed September 2014 – via TripAdvisor

"Relaxing"

“One of the more memorable places I have stayed in that it was quiet and isolated, the staff was incredibly helpful and the value for the money was very good. I got a separate room for my 13-year old granddaughter who was travelling with me. All I know is that she slept so well that I had to wake her up in order to check out on time at 11.” – Timothy, stayed April 2015

Superb top class

A big thank you for a Top Class meal.

My Fathers 85th birthday what superb meal for a fraction of the cost of any Glasgow restaurant.

Compliments to the Chef and both of the waitresses.

Having our wedding here March 2018 can’t wait.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Grantm2866 via TripAdvisor

Just what we needed

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as she had to undergo surgery as a day patient in a Glasgow hospital. Rather than stay in the city we chose to stay out of town. This was the right decision. The hotel is not too far from Glasgow but is an oasis of peace and tranquillity set in its own grounds and with car parking just outside the front door.

Our double room with en-suite was chilly when we first went up (it was -2C outside) but the radiator soon warmed it when the thermostatic valve was opened. The bed was comfy and the water in the bathroom hot. Not always a given in Scottish country house hotels.

For dinner the first night we had a bar supper of soup and roll, smoked haddock on crushed oatmeal potatoes and followed on with the cheeseboard. I had a carafe of the house Pinot Grigio to accompany my meal. All were excellent. The menu is not fine dining but comprises straightforward meals, in our experience well cooked and with sensible portions. Actually the cheeseboard was a bit meagre for £5.95 per person and I could have eaten the double cheeseboard that was delivered on my own. But I am quite greedy. The staff were efficient and attentive without being a nuisance.

We skipped breakfast the next day as my wife was fasting for her op. That evening on our return from the hospital I had not eaten all day (anxiety) and my wife was still woozy after a general anaesthetic and pain killers so I ate alone in the bar. My wife was offered food in her room but she just needed to sleep. I had leek and potato soup, haddock and chips and cranachan to follow. All were fine although the chips were a slight let down – mass produced and no more than edible – but at these prices hand-cut, triple-cooked are not going to be an option. The fresh and perfectly cooked fish made up for them and the petits pois were better than I expected. The cranachan made up for the miserly cheeseboard of the previous night – a full glass of cream, whisky and oatmeal interspersed with fresh raspberries – fabulous. I went to bed happy.

The next morning with my wife recovering well we had the breakfast before departing. She had sausage, tomato, scrambled egg and mushrooms while I had the full house – sausage, bacon, haggis, black pudding, scrambled egg, tattie scone, baked beans, mushrooms and tomato. This being Scotland and not being qualified as a “link”, the sausage was of the square sort and so my wife, who does not like it, gave hers to me. I was a bit let down as it is not always to my taste. But this sample was well above the average over-salted, greasy slab, clearly containing proper meat and seasoned lightly. I ate both pieces and enjoyed them. Did I mention I was greedy?The accompanying choice of white and brown toast was hot and well cooked. One of the best breakfasts I have had in Scotland and I have eaten many.

We left feeling as well looked after as one could hope for during what was quite a stressful time. Unfortunately this is not going to be the only operation my wife has to undergo, but we will be back and reassured to know that when necessary we can stay in a quiet and comfortable place within easy reach of Glasgow.

Stayed November 2016

Would recommend it 100%

Just stayed one night on a busineds trip, hotel is fabulous and being an older building you have to expect character and the hotel certainly had character. My room was very nice and ideal for a couple, had tea and coffee making, hairdryer, TV and plenty of drawers for clothing etc – ironing board and iron upon request. Bathroom was equipped with minature shampoo, shower gel, soap and even a box of tissues. I did not use the bar but walked through it and it seemed very cosy and friendly.
Set in beautiful green area, would be great for a walk in warmer weather.
Breakfast was included and plentiful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful.
Would recommend it 100%

April 2017

Patricia H via Facebook