Reviews

Here are just some reviews from our many satisfied customers. The full range of reviews can be found here.

“Freindly staff that took care of everything.”

Big rooms, clean and well worth the price. Service by staff was excellent. Great food in the Stable Bar selection from well balanced menu. Best Fillet steak I have ever had. 20 minute drive into Glasgow city centre or 5 minutes from Campsie hills. No complaints.

 

~David R via TripAdvisor

August 2016

“Delicious lunch”

We enjoyed a brilliant lunch in the conservatory. The conservatory is beautiful and looks onto lovely gardens. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed out visit. We will return ! Thank you .

Alison R via TripAdvisor
May 2016

“Fantastic staff and lovely old hotel”

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Kincaid House, the staff were all really welcoming and friendly, the room was big and airy and breakfast was cooked to order. We had dinner and drinks in the Stables bar which was good quality and not at ridiculous hotel prices! The hotel itself is quite ‘old-school’ and quaint but that’s what gives it its charm!

One thing I would recommend to people is don’t bother getting the bus into Kirkintilloch – you can get a taxi for two people for the same price!

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
  • Kfly83 via TripAdvisor

"Warm, friendly quality hotel"

“The staff were warm and welcoming, as was the hotel its self. The restaurant was a nice place to relax and the meal was superb.” – William, stayed April 2015

"Quiet, Comfortable Retreat"

“Unfortunately I only had the opportunity for 1 night stay whilst in the area on business. The staff were helpful and friendly, food excellent – both breakfast and the wee pub/restaurant attached. Bedroom clean, comfortable and everything needed. Location superb.” – Teresa, stayed May 2015

“Living like a lord”

“This listed building has a serene setting and a fantastic orangery. The food is fantastic. Evening meals and breakfasts are exceptional. We enjoyed living like the local lord. To be recommended. The surrounding area is very picturesque.” – Gerry, stayed September 2014 – via TripAdvisor

"Relaxing"

“One of the more memorable places I have stayed in that it was quiet and isolated, the staff was incredibly helpful and the value for the money was very good. I got a separate room for my 13-year old granddaughter who was travelling with me. All I know is that she slept so well that I had to wake her up in order to check out on time at 11.” – Timothy, stayed April 2015

“Loads of character / big rooms”

“When I went I found there was ample parking – I like to park nowhere near anyone else if I can help it, and I managed it here by parking at the side of the hotel. Most people seem to park at the front (especially the conference guests in the day).

I had room 1 which was huge. Beware the old windows rattle in the wind if they are not closed properly.

Bed was comfy – thought it wasn’t at first, though had perfectly good sleep for 4 nights. Just had one night when I was woken up though this was other guests being inconsiderate which can happen at any hotel. Other 3 nights, no problems at all – no noisy deliveries early in the morning and so on.

Only things that let the hotel down in my opinion was the food and a problem with the tiles in my en-suite. Main course was nothing to write home about, but the pudding was very nice. The Full Breakfast was a disappointment as it’s normally very good north of the border.

In my en-suite there was an issue with the floor tiles – the water had managed to get below the tiles, so it would squidge back up when you stood on a tile by the sink. Ended up standing on towels. Told the staff about this and requested the floor not to be cleaned during my stay, which they did.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. No-one at reception when I arrived, though on ringing the bell, someone appeared within seconds.

No restaurants at all as far as I could see in Milton of Campsie – ended up driving into Kirkintilloch most nights.

Not perfect, though I would use the hotel again.” – Kevin, stayed May 2015 – via TripAdvisor

"Charming retreat! Food excellent! Staff Friendly and attentive."

“We stayed here as we were visiting relatives in the area. It is a charming retreat that is warm and friendly.
The food quality was excellent and the breakfast was of high standard.” – Mark, stayed February 2015

"Overnight success"

“Very pleasant stay in a comfortable room with very friendly helpful staff. Will certainly be back.” – Lesley, stayed October 2014

“Bags of character”

“We stayed a night here after visiting Loch Lomond on our way to Edinburgh. I read a few reviews that said the decor was a bit old and shabby and yes the rooms could do with a lick of paint but it’s got bags of character and history which more than make up for it. The bathroom could do with some modernisation as well, but everything was spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was very good and reasonably priced and they were happy to accept a request for our fussy two yr old. Breakfast was also excellent – very good fry up. Would definitely stay there again.” – Nick, stayed May 2015

"Home from home, relaxing"

“There is nothing to dislike. Friendly and helpful staff and the food – just excellent. We were on B&B basis but also had an evening meal. We highly recommend the hotel cuisine – excellent.” – Jacquie, stayed September 2014

"Pleasant hotel with great staff"

“I was staying overnight only and arrived early evening. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable. The bed was a little lumpy but I did sleep well. The food was enjoyable and fresh.” – Louise, stayed March 2015